Posted on

why is cbd illegal in texas

Why is cbd illegal in texas

The federal government still highly regulates the production and sale of hemp, and its cannabinoids, including CBD. The Farm Bill allows for states to regulate or even prohibit CBD cultivation and commerce. In addition, states may attempt to regulate CBD food, beverage, dietary supplement, and cosmetic products, independently of the FDA finalizing its views on such products.

On June 10, 2019, Republican Gov. Greg Abbott signed House Bill 1325, which established broad regulations for hemp production, cultivation, and testing. The bill sought to create rules to match the federal definition of hemp-derived CBD products.

Why is CBD sometimes illegal?

The only FDA-approved of CBD by the is GW Pharmaceuticals’ Epidiolex.

Texas CBD laws

The Texas Department of Agriculture (TDA) approved the proposed State Hemp Plan in January 2020, and the rules and regulations for the cultivation and licensing of hemp growers, processors, and manufacturers have been added to the Texas Administrative Code.

Why is cbd illegal in texas

Yes, if it is produced within federal guidelines.

Is CBD Oil Legal Under Federal Law?

If you are prescribed the use of medical CBD oil and use ‘low-THC” CBD, then the use is legal. Texas has legalized marijuana for medical use only, but only in a very narrow set of circumstances. The Compassionate Use Act of 2015 authorizes the prescription of “low-THC cannabis,” defined as having no more than 0.5% THC for patients diagnosed with intractable epilepsy and entered into the state-maintained “compassionate-use registry.” 3 The Act requires prescription by two physicians however, it is currently illegal under federal law for a physician to “prescribe” marijuana. Under a 2000 court ruling, it is legal for physicians to “recommend” marijuana to their patients but the language of the Compassionate Use Act calls for a prescription, setting up a conflict with Federal law. 4 Additionally, to qualify for the medical use of CBD, the patient must have tried two FDA-approved drugs and found them to be ineffective. There are currently three dispensaries licensed by Texas to sell qualifying products to authorized consumers.

What is the Penalty for Possession of CBD Oil in Texas?

If the CBD oil does not contain any THC, is it currently a Schedule V substance not in any penalty group. Possession of CBD with no THC can be charged as a Class B Misdemeanor with a punishment range of 0 – 180 days in jail and a fine up to $2,000.