If you’re caught selling weed to a minor or near a school (within 1000 feet), you’ll be required to serve a minimum of two years in prison.
In addition to having an approved medical condition, you must also receive a recommendation from a West Virginia Board of Health certified doctor, be at least 18 years old, and register with the state as a medical marijuana patient.
THC is the ingredient found in marijuana that gets you high.
Medical Marijuana in West Virginia
If you’re in possession of drug paraphernalia, you could also get an additional charge of six months in jail and a $5000 fine.
Third-party labs can detect any unwanted or potentially harmful chemicals contained in CBD. They can also make sure that the CBD inside the product is equal to the amount the company is advertising. Any trustworthy company will have lab reports available on its website.
Once West Virginia’s medical marijuana program is up and running, dispensaries will have the best information regarding CBD. More information about the medical marijuana program can be found here.
Marijuana Legalization in West Virginia
Flowering marijuana plants are the ones most commonly associated with hippies and the stoner culture. These plants produce smokable weed and might get you into trouble with the law.
Driving around town shopping for the right product for your needs is time-consuming. The next supplier is only a click or two away when you buy online. Save yourself the gas money and get your CBD delivered straight to your door.
Once a license has been granted, licensees must provide documentation that the seeds planted contain no more than .3% THC. They must also provide the geographical coordinates of the land where they will be growing industrial hemp.
All types of cannabis, including hemp strains that don’t produce enough THC to cause intoxication, were considered illegal under the Federal Controlled Substances Act of 1970. The law categorized all cannabis as Schedule I, which defined the plant as a highly addictive substance with a high potential for abuse and no accepted medical use.
There are possession limits for CBD derived from marijuana. Approved patients are permitted to possess a thirty-day supply of cannabis-infused products, such as CBD in the form of tinctures, oils, pills, topicals, forms of vaporization and nebulization, excluding dry leaf plant.
Still, the agency warns that regulations in flux still require companies to make legitimate claims on their labels. Buyers should nonetheless approach CBD products with caution. Most reputable CBD producers typically include the following information on their CBD product labels:
CBD stands for cannabidiol. It is a non-intoxicating cannabinoid found in cannabis. Cannabidiol is the second-most abundant cannabinoid in the plant after tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). It has many potential therapeutic benefits, including anti-inflammatory, analgesic, anti-anxiety, and seizure-suppressant properties. CBD can be sourced from both marijuana and hemp plants.
CBD sourced from hemp is legal in West Virginia. Hemp was initially legalized in 2002 with the passage of Senate Bill 447 and defined hemp as cannabis with no more than 1% THC. The state passed the West Virginia Industrial Hemp Development Act in 2018, with the state updating its hemp licensing program in 2019. CBD sourced from cannabis is also legal for patients with qualifying medical conditions, following the West Virginia Medical Cannabis Act which was signed into law on April 19, 2017.
The 2018 Farm Bill shifted the oversight of hemp and hemp-derived products from the U.S. Department of Justice (DOJ) to the U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA). The FDA currently does not presently allow CBD-infused food, drinks, or dietary supplements to be sold, and hasn’t yet provided regulations for hemp-derived CBD products.